Cat Skiing, Part Deux

Our second day of Cat Skiing with Big Red Cats has been and gone. Having had in excess of 1 metre of snow in the last 5 / 6 days even with a knee that is giving me plenty of grief I wasn’t going to miss out.

What a day. There was almost too much snow (don’t shoot me down just yet, read on…), at least for the level of course that we were doing, some of the inclines were a little too shallow and made it a little hard work to get going. Once you had struggled through the thigh deep powder to get going it was awesome. The front thrid of your board would pop up above the snow, the rest deep beneath you and you would begin effectively aqua plaining. It was an incredible feeling, each turn was so sweet, each tumble I took bringing a giggle from me (trying to get back up didn’t though.), each face shot better than the last, the realisation that you are riding in waist deep powder from time to time. It’s almost indescribable.

Whilst I know that the experience is totally dependant on the weather conditions at the time, I must say though, if you ever get the chance to go, do it. You won’t regret it.

My knee prevented me from doing 3 of the 8 runs which didn’t really matter, the 5 that I had will stay with me forever, I did get the added bonus though of riding in the Cab of the Cat, something that I have always wanted to do. To be bounding down a cat track doing 30ks an hour in one of those vehicles is just incredible.

So not a full day but I still enjoyed it. I’ll be keeping one eye on the weather and one of the stand bys for the rest of our time here that’s for sure.

One thought on “Cat Skiing, Part Deux

  1. Jim says:

    Sounds wicked mate! Davos was pretty good but nowhere near that. Would be interested in how the avvy course went.

Leave a Reply

